As an integrated part of the Mobile Communications and Quantum Technologies Laboratory at the BME Department of Networked Systems and Services (BME HIT), we focus on quantum based communications and quantum information theory.

Our team has published scientific results in the field of quantum computation and communications, quantum cryptography and quantum information theory.

Our focus. Our main focus is on the following areas: theory of quantum computation and communication, quantum Shannon theory, quantum channel coding, quantum error correction, quantum cryptography, quantum repeaters, quantum networks, quantum space communications, visualizing multi-qubit systems using fractal representation, single photon based quantum key distribution, continuous variable quantum key distribution, entanglement based quantum key distribution, satellite based quantum communication, quantum random number generators.

Sándor Imre published his book “Quantum Computing and Communications” in 2005 by Wiley, and his second book with László Gyöngyösi entitled “Advanced Quantum Communications” (published by Wiley, 2012) which includes the most recent results of quantum communications and quantum information theory.

Awards. The scientific research of our members were recognized by the Gábor Dénes award (Sándor Imre, 2011), by the Csiby Soma scholarship (László Gyöngyösi, 2010), BME doctoral candidate scholarship (László Bacsárdi, 2009; László Gyöngyösi, 2011), by IAF Young Space Leadership Award (László Bacsárdi, 2017), by Puskás Tiavadar award (Eszter Udvary, 2016; László Bacsárdi, 2018), by Fonó Albert Award (László Bacsárdi, 2018). Sándor Imre has been elected as corresponding member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (2019), while László Bacsárdi has been elected as corresponding member of the International Academy of Astronautics (2019).

Education. We supervise M.Sc and B.Sc students and we have two courses on quantum communications: Introduction to Quantum Computing and Communications (BMEVIHIAV06, English in fall semester, Hungarian in spring semester) and Quantum Computing and Communications (BMEVIHIMA14).

Our former (non active) courses includes Quantum computing and communications (BMEVIHI9353 and BMEVIHISV53) as well as Quantum Infocommunications and Applications (BMEVIHIAV13).

Outreach. Besides our educational activity at the university, we carry out huge effort to popularize the quantum communications in Hungary. This includes scientific lecturers at different secondary schools and events, and writing Hungarian science articles.

Our former students

  • To be updated with names of students between 2016 and 2021
  • Zsófia Szőke (BSc, ’16) – Analyzing quantum-based solutions in ad hoc networks
  • Dániel Okos(BSc, ’16) – Analyzing routing in quantum-based ad hoc networks
  • Mátyás Krisztián Franko (BSc, ’15) – Analysis of 2nd Generation Quantum Key Distribution System
  • Dóra Bányai (BSc, ’13) – Examining Communication in Quantum-Based Mobile Ad Hoc Networks
  • Máté Galambos (OTDK I. hely, ’13) – Novel approach for visualising quantum bits and quantum operations using fractals
  • László Gyöngyösi (PhD, ’13) – Information Geometric Superactivation of Asymptotic Quantum Capacity and Classical Zero-Error Capacity of Zero-Capacity Quantum Channels
  • Angela Carasa (MSc, ’13) – Analyzing key distribution in quantum space communications
  • Viktor Kocsis (BSc, ’13) – Analyting quantum repeaters
  • László Bacsárdi(PhD, ’12) – Classical and Quantum Based Information Transfer and Dissemination in Space Communications
  • Imre Dobó (BSc, ’12) – Analyzing quantum key distribution protocols
  • Gábor Molnár (BSc, ’11) – Programming of quantum computers – programming langues and paradigms
  • Zoltán Holoda (MSc, ’09) – Analyzing binaric coding in quantum network
  • Balázs Dóra (MSc, ’08) – Simulation of quantum error correction
  • László Gyöngyösi (MSc, ’08) – Quantum Copy-Protection based on Holographic Data Storage
  • László Bacsárdi (MSc, ’06) – Using quantum communications in space communications
  • Márton Bérces (MSc, ’05)
  • Attila Pereszlényi (MSc, ’05)